Candidates for Birmingham, Edgbaston in UK General Election 2017


UK General Election 2017 is scheduled to take place on 8 June 2017. This list of candidates contesting election for Birmingham, Edgbaston in UK General Election 2017.

Birmingham was a parliamentary constituency of the House of Commons of the Parliament of the United Kingdom for the city of Birmingham. The area was split into seven single-member constituencies in 1885; Bordesley, Central, East, Edgbaston, North, South and Birmingham West.


Party Affiliation

 Preet Gill  Labour and Co-operative Party
 Caroline Squire  Conservative and Unionist Party
 Colin Green  Liberal Democrats
 Alice Kiff  Green Party
 Dick Rodgers  Common Good

The United Kingdom is divided into 650 parliamentary constituencies, each of which votes to elect a member of parliament (MP) into the House of Commons. The party with the majority of seats is called upon by the monarch to form a government with its leader acting as the Prime Minister. The leader of the party with the second largest number of parliamentary seats is called upon to become the Leader of the Opposition.

The Conservative Party and Labour Party have been the two most dominant in British politics since 1922. Their leaders having provided all Prime Ministers since 1935. Since the last election, the Conservatives hold 330 seats (36.8%) and Labour hold 232 seats (30.4%). The Liberal Democrats have a long history as the United Kingdom’s third most popular party, however they fell from this position in 2015 when they lost 49 seats in the House of Commons to occupy just 8. The Scottish National Party now occupies this third place, holding a total of 56 seats.

UK General Election 2017 polling is open from 7.00am until 10.00pm on Thursday 8 June 2017. The election verification (followed immediately by the count) will start on Thursday 8 June 2017 at 10.00pm at Spennymoor Leisure Centre, Spennymoor and Louisa Centre, Stanley.

United Kingdom General Election 2017 | British House of Commons, Results in Full

List of Candidates in all 650 Seats of United Kingdom General Election 2017